KAKALAK 2022 Winners & Inclusion

Thank you to ALL the amazing poets and artists who submitted to the Kakalak contest this year! And CONGRATULATIONS to those chosen for inclusion!

HERE’S THE COMPLETE LINE-UP of poets and artists selected for publication in KAKALAK 2022:

First Place: Evelyn Eickmeyer-Quiñones, Spider Invasion
Second Place: Constance Lombardo, Green Woman
Third Place & Cover: Megan Ledgerwood, Green Light
Honorable Mention: Debra A. Daniel, January
Honorable Mention: Judith A. Davis, Snowy Owl
Honorable Mention: Michael A. Dorsey, Sanctuary

First Place: H.R. Spencer, “Ukrainian Anthem”
Second Place: Katherine H. Maynard, “The River Bridge”
Third Place: Jane Shlensky, “Denouement with Irony”
Honorable Mention: Michael Gaspeny, “Old Time Religion”
Honorable Mention: Nancy Martin-Young, “Risk”
Honorable Mention: Gary V. Powell, “5 AM”

Joyce Compton Brown, The Road to Home
Les Brown, Snowy Egret and Hooded Merganser
S.L. Cockerille, Mushroom
Julie Ann Cook, Foxglove
Debra A. Daniel, Morning Paper
Judith A. Davis, Chieftain
Michael A. Dorsey, Stillness Rests in the Immediacy of the Moment
Nadine Ellsworth-Moran, Awash in History
Lynn Farmer, Cool
Julia Freifeld, Inside Out
Bill Griffin, Blue Arrival
Evie Chang Henderson, Pitcher
Patricia Joynes, Fawn and Mailbox
Jack McGregor, Ketchikan from the Air
Pamela E. Miller, Blue Samurai in Watercolor
Arlene Oraby, A Splash of Nature
McClain Percy, Monochrome I
Peggy Waters Rowland, Blue Ridge Parkway
H.R. Spencer, Hook House, Irmo, South Carolina
Brittany Taylor-Driggers, Day by the Ocean
Irwin Weinberger, Songsters and Poets
Susan G. Williams, This Stick Will Do Nicely
Lee Zacharias, Northern Cardinals, The Kiss

J. S. Absher, “The Place of the Blues in the Water and Carbon Cycles”
Laura White Alderson, “Oh That Billy Bumpus Lee”
Alexandra Aradas, “notes to ak freeland”
Pam Baggett, “To the Woman Who Told Me She Has Nothing in Common with Black People”
Don Ball, “Pocket-Dialing the Pandemic”
Richard Band, “On Tom Sawyer’s First Sight of Becky Thatcher”
Joan Barasovska, “Osage Avenue, Early Morning”
Sam Barbee, “DOA”
Michael Beadle, “The Gauntlet”
Glenda Council Beall, “If”
Libby Bernardin, “Self-portrait in a Red Dress”
Al Black, “Elysium Soccer Fields”
Teresa McLamb Blackmon, “The Hitchhiker”
Susan Blair, “The News Is Not New Anymore”
Gary Bolick, “A Country Heart”
Gay Boswell, “Rules”
Katie Ellen Bowers, “Most Mornings”
Cheryl Boyer, “Love, Simply”
Mary O’Keefe Brady, “How My Morning Goes”
Doris Thomas Browder, “Always She Moaned Her Own Bad Luck”
Joyce Compton Brown, “Forgive Me, I Just Bought a Refrigerator”
Les Brown, “Green Deserts”
Kathleen Calby, “Breakneck Creek”
Bill Caldwell, “Pluck”
Barbara Campbell, “What Really Mattered the Day the Ambulance Took You Away”
Paloma A. Capanna, “Sirens Over Ukraine”
Fran Cardwell, “Old Island Church Watch Night”
Mark Caskie, “Winter Rations”
Kenneth Chamlee, “What Falls Out”
S.L. Cockerille, “Take Jesus, for Example”
Joy Colter, “Ideation”
Barbara Conrad, “Who Has the Key to the Garden?”
Julie Ann Cook, “Massacre of the Innocents: An Art Class Study of Rubens’ Masterpiece”
Susan McClain Craig, “To the Living Statue”
Jane Mary Curran, “Funeral in March”
Steve Cushman, “This Is Not a Covid Poem”
Debra A. Daniel, “Revising My Mother’s Thirteenth Birthday”
John Desjarlais, “Our Fathers’ War”
David Dixon, “Holy Ground”
Mary Alice Dixon, “Snakeberry Mama”
J Dwight Donald, “A Native Son”
Deborah H. Doolittle, “In Connemara”
Sandra Dreis, “The Potato”
Joanne Durham, “Almost Morning”
Ralph Earle, “At a Pause in the Pandemic”
Nadine Ellsworth-Moran, “A Different Kind of String Theory”
Terri Kirby Erickson, “Cana”
Lynn Farmer, “Paid”
Nicole Farmer, “Exalted”
Michael Gaspeny, “Prince Memory”
Paige Gilchrist, “Weep Holes”
Ed Gold, “At the Wesley”
Terri Greco, “Sonnet After Gregory Orr”
Anne Waters Green, “On Viewing Behind the Myth of Benevolence”
Bill Griffin, “The Woman Who Fears She Has Lost Her Son”
Cordelia M. Hanemann, “Counting the Ways”
Janis Harrington, “Quarantine”
Sandra Sturtz Hauss, “Kensico—Last Day of Spring”
Peggy W. Heitmann, “Remedy”
Mary Hennessy, “A Praise Poem Without the Praise”
Ann Herlong-Bodman, “Deer in Shadows”
Jo Ann Hoffman, “At the Mouth of the Cave with Elijah”
Charles Israel, Jr., “Holy Sonnet 14”
Karen Luke Jackson, “Peeling at the Pale Green Line”
Becky Nicole James, “Cadillac”
Steph Jeffries, “Kindness, Served”
Kelly Jones, “starry night after the diagnosis”
Patricia A. Joslin, “Hiking the Blue Star”
Jeanne Julian, “Walk in Thaw”
Britt Kaufmann, “Rights County Appalachia”
Helga Kidder, “August Song”
Eugene Kusterer, “Encounter”
Dallas Lee, “Scuffing the Stones”
Susan Lefler, “If We Had Poets”
Greg Lobas, “Mother of Justice”
John Longbottom, “Drumbeat”
Kathryn Etters Lovatt, “She Is Not Herself”
Gina Malone, “Visitations”
Sandra Marshburn, “To My Students”
Mary E. Martin, “Caught”
Preston Martin, “George Cables and Cal and Eve”
Nancy Martin-Young, “ACME”
Katherine H. Maynard, “Bucking Hamlet’s Stars”
Terri McCord, “Decontaminating the Lake”
Marjorie Schratz McNamara, “Where We Are”
Ashley Memory, “Making Bread and Butter Pickles”
Yvette R. Murray, “Saturday Mornin’ in Washington Park”
Arlene Oraby, “My Black Beauty”
Alice Osborn, “Skirts in the Snow: Leaving the Donner Party”
Pattie Palmer-Baker, “Not Enough Love”
Aleta Payne, “Veritas”
Gail Peck, “Lunch Box from Hiroshima”
Gary Phillips, “Coyote”
Fred Pond, “Carolina Reaper in the Garden”
Gary V. Powell, “Dump Run”
Sarah Pross, “Gypsies”
David Radavich, “Loving Cleome”
Judith Cummings Reese, “Cassia”
Lucia Walton Robinson, “Picnic on James Whitcomb Riley’s Tomb, 1958”
Betty Ritz Rogers, “Gordon’s Ashes”
Marilyn Keith Rousseau, “Blood-Red Tomatoes”
Richard Rubin, “Passing”
Leslie M. Rupracht, “Aunt Barb’s Huckleberries”
Nasrollah Samiy, “Love Letters”
Diane Sasson, “Removal”
Roberta Schultz, “Deep Ends”
Martin Settle, “Die with Too Many Faces”
Jane Shlensky, “Ode to a Box Turtle”
Sherry Siddall, “Trading Path”
Michael Simpson, “For Edward R. Murrow”
H.R. Spencer, “Mahamari, a Haibun Sequence”
Caren Stuart, “Snake Harmer”
Nancy Swanson, “Savannah River Basin”
Lynne Santy Tanner, “My Phone Sends Me a Video of My Deceased Husband”
Jo Barbara Taylor, “Incunabulum”
Melinda Thomsen, “A Composition & Arrangement of Matter”
Lucinda Trew, “virgins widows and wives”
Rob Vance, “My Collection”
Mark Vogel, “Memo to Water Workers”
Priscilla Webster-Williams, “Photo of a Women’s Group in a Park, 1974”
Eric Weil, “A Generation-Counting Quilt”
Jennifer Weiss, “2020 Was the Worst Year”
Louise Gwathmey Weld, “Wild Night”
Nancy Harmon Womack, “The Seamstress”
Janice P. Wright, “We Apologize: A Poem 4 Our Youngins”

Congratulations to all!
Anne M. Kaylor, Executive Editor and Publisher
Judges and Editors: Kimberlyn Blum-Hyclak, Angelo Geter, David E. Poston

Leave a Reply